Friday, 30 April 2010

Sunny side up

This side of the fence is south-facing; over on the opposite side, the clematis is still in bud.

Thursday, 29 April 2010

Dyke Road

Looking southwards down Dyke Road from the bus stop outside the Church of the Good Shepherd. That's Brighton (BN1) on the left of the road and Hove (BN3) on the right.

Wednesday, 28 April 2010

All of it

March's lumpy, bumpy tree dressed in its Spring finery and without a car parked in front of it.

Tuesday, 27 April 2010

Monday, 26 April 2010

Sunday, 25 April 2010

Further round

Another view from the pier, this time looking to the right of yesterday's photo. This time of year, the merry-go-round is only in action at weekends, staying well wrapped up during the week.

Saturday, 24 April 2010

Across the sea

Looking westwards from the end of the pier towards Hove with Shoreham in the distance.

Friday, 23 April 2010

End of the pier

Some glorious weather over the last week or so has seen me out and about doing traditional seasidey stuff including a wander round the pier and lots of walks along the seafront.

Wednesday, 21 April 2010

Sunday, 18 April 2010

Runners and watchers

Brighton Marathon runners cross the bottom of Hove Street with about 7 miles of the course still to go...

Friday, 16 April 2010


And they're working hard smartening up the outside of the building as well as the inside.

Thursday, 15 April 2010

I'm happy to see this

The old Woolworths site on Blatchington Road is being refurbished and shop-fitted. These days, it's so good to see a shop opening rather than closing.

Wednesday, 14 April 2010

More pinkness

Contrasting nicely against an evergreen hedge at the corner of New Church Road and Hove Street.

Saturday, 10 April 2010

Advance warning

Next weekend the first ever marathon though the streets and along the seafront of Brighton & Hove will take place. Many of the roads near my flat will be closed to traffic on the day - this sign is on the corner of Hove Street and Church Road. And yes, the sky really is that beautiful shade of blue today.

Monday, 5 April 2010

Sunday, 4 April 2010

Elephant's ears

Behind the bushes in yesterday's photo is a huge patch of Bergenia cordifolia, commonly called elephant's ears.

Saturday, 3 April 2010


Eaton Court's garden is edged with a row of nicely clipped bushes.

Friday, 2 April 2010

Eaton Court

I like the pierced metal sign outside this block of flats on the corner of Eaton Gardens and Eaton Road.